RECENT PUBLICATIONS

Hein, J. (2021/under review). "Bronca", a key Argentine emotion.

Hein, J. (2021/under review). What is Porteño Spanish lunfardo (‘slang’)? A comprehensive, insider’s semantic model.

Hein, J. (2020). Europeanized Places, Europeanized People: The Discursive Construction of Argentina. Journal of Postcolonial Linguistics, 2, 28-45. Retrieved from https://iacpl.net

Hein, J. (2020). Words, meanings, and discourse in Argentina: an ethnopragmatic study of Porteño Spanish. (PhD thesis, Griffith University, Australia).

Hein, J. (2019). Cultural Keywords in Porteño Spanish: Viveza Criolla, Vivo and Boludo. In B. Peeters, K. Mullan, & L. Sadow (Eds.), Studies in Ethnopragmatics, Cultural Semantics, and Intercultural Communication: Meaning and Culture (pp. 35-56). Singapore: Springer.

Cruz Suárez, J. C., & Hein, J. (Eds). (2015). Diálogos Latinoamericanos, 24. Aarhus, Denmark: Latin American Center, Aarhus University Press. https://tidsskrift.dk/dialogos/issue/view/8023/727

CURRENT PROJECTS

Hein, J. (in progress). Meditation in Minimal Language (MML)

Levisen, C., Fernández, S.S, Hein, J. (Eds./in progress).  Cognitive Cultural Semantics: A Nordic Guide to the Natural Semantic Metalanguage [Special Issue].  Scandinavian Studies in Language.

UPCOMING EVENTS

16-17 April 2021. NSM-Con2021 (Natural Semantic Metalanguage Conference 2021). Panel Chair. Name of Panel: "Minimal English out in the world: services and applications".

 
 
 
 

16-17 April 2021. NSM-Con2021 (Natural Semantic Metalanguage Conference 2021). Hein, J. (in progress). Meditation in

Minimal Language (MML)

10 May 2021. NSM, Minimal Languages, and Spanish. Guest lecturer for Prof. Susana Fernández's course “Intercultural Communication and Competence” of the Master’s Degree in Intercultural Studies (track Latin America and Spain), Aarhus University, Denmark.

26 June 2021, 11:00 a.m. AEST (25 June, 10 p.m. in Buenos Aires, 8 p.m. in Bogotá, 9 p.m. in Santiago) ."Becas de MA y PhD en Australia: Cómo ganarlas". Zoom Online Webinar [free event].